

Environmental Health & Safety Policy Manual		
Issue Date: 10/27/2009	Updated: 8/10/2021	Policy #: EHS-100.01
Radiation Safety Committee Charter		

1.0 PURPOSE:

This charter document defines the membership, authority, responsibilities and operating rules of the Radiation Safety Committee at Louisiana State **University** Health Science Center (LSUHSC).

2.0 SCOPE:

The Radiation Safety Committee is the governing body for all aspects of radiation protection at LSUHSC, including all affiliated research, clinical, instructional and service units using ionizing and non-ionizing radiation sources or devices (collectively referred to as "radiation sources") in facilities owned or controlled by LSUHSC.

3.0 RESPONSIBILITIES:

3.1 Radiation Safety Committee shall:

- Report annually to the LSU System-wide Radiation Protection Committee.
- Ensure all possession, use and disposition of radiation sources or devices by LSUHSC personnel comply with pertinent federal and state regulations and within specific conditions of Radiation Material License LA-0001-L01.
- Establish radiation safety policies, training procedures and criteria.
- Review and approve, modify or deny any application for ionizing radiation use and set conditions of use for permits proposed by the Radiation Safety Office.
- Ensure only qualified individuals are permitted to use radiation sources.
- Enforce compliance within the program, including imposition of sanctions for non-compliance.

3.2 Radiation Safety Committee Chair shall:

- Hold quarterly Committee meetings and develop meetings agendas.
- Implement the control functions of the Committee.



- Work with the Radiation Safety Officer to ensure that the Radiation Safety Office implements the directives of the Committee.
- Provide technical support as required.

3.2 Radiation Safety Officer shall:

- Assist Committee Chair with development of meeting agendas.
- Inform the Committee of any radiation safety incidents/violations and recommend action.
- Record and disseminate meeting minutes.

4.0 IMPLEMENTATION

4.1 Membership

- Dr. Dennis Paul, Chairperson
- Dr. Ashok Aiyar
- Dr. Hamid Boulares
- Ms. Samantha Lindsey
- Dr. Li Shen
- Dr. John Frazier
- Mr. Darren Burkett

4.2 Frequency of Meetings

The committee will meet no less than quarterly.

4.3 Minutes

Meeting minutes will include:

- Date, time, and location of meeting
- Members present and absent
- Report of actions taken as a result of previous meetings
- Summary of deliberations and discussions, and recommended action items.
- New business

5.0 **RECORDKEEPING:**

Meeting minutes will be maintained by EH&S for a minimum of six years